Pörner Gruppe Logo

History of the Pörner Group

1972 the Pörner Group was founded as a three-men engineering office for piping design. Today the group has a workforce of about 500.

"If we weren't an excellent engineering company, we would have been blown away by the market's wind long ago."

Kurt Thomas Pörner, founder of the enterprise    

 

 

2016: 25 years of EDL Anlagenbau Gesellschaft

In September 2016 EDL celebrated its 25th company anniversary. Since its start EDL has evolved into an internationally recognized plant engineering company. 

The anniversary brochure „25 years EDL“ does not only describes recent project highlights, but also the comprehensive technology portfolio to produce high-quality products such as base oils, waxes and lubricants. Further information about EDL technologies can be taken here and from the EDL brochure, page 6 ff.

  

2016: Foundation of OOO "Pörner Group Russia"

OOO "Pörner Group Russia” was established in March 2016, thus expanding the Pörner network of independent subsidiaries.

Back in autumn 2014 a Pörner representative office was opened in Moscow. With the transformation to OOO "Pörner Group Russia"the branch is now legally authorized to enter into contracts and independently manage projects in Russia. OOO "Pörner Group Russia" combines the CIS activities of all Pörner companies, has a local presence for stakeholders and facilitates the direct communication with our Russian customers. 
 

2015: State Award & Anlagenbau 4.0

Pörner wins with the project "Clean Air for Siberia: Planning a desulfurization plant for Norilsk Nickel" the nomination for the Austrian State Award for Consulting 2015. The three-year, internationally acclaimed mega project, containing 25 sub plants was headed by Pörner and contributes significantly to the environmental protection of the entire Arctic Circle. 

Pörner developed its own modern concept "Anlagenbau 4.0" for the best possible project realisation, as well as providing the "Plant 4.0" with the highest possible efficiency, today and in the future. 
 

2014: Opening of Representative Office Moscow

In the fall of 2014, a representative office in Moscow was opened. The premises in Moscow serves as a conference location and facilitates the supervision of Pörner’s Russian customers. A highly qualified team is now available, on site, as a competent partner for our customers.

Download here

2012: 40 years Pörner Group - The year of the company anniversaries

In 2012 the Group celebrates its 40th anniversary. It all began with a 3-men office founded in 1972 that is now a globally operating large-scale process plant engineering company that undertakes projects worth 100m EUR and more.  

2012 is the year of three anniversaries for the Pörner Group. Pörner Grimma and Pörner Kundl can each look back to 20 years of existence – an event celebrated by adequate events.

We would like to thank our customers and partners for their trust and our employees for their great personal commitment.
 

2011: 20 years EDL

On September 1st 2011 EDL Anlagenbau Gesellschaft celebrated with a boat trip on the river Elbe its 20th Company Anniversary. As an EPC contractor for refineries, the chemical, petrochemical and gas industry EDL focuses on process engineering and has a specific process know-how when it comes to refineries, luboils and selected areas of the chemical industry.   
 

2008: Pörner Linz nominated for the Austrian State Prize for Consulting

The Start-up of the industrial catalysts production plant in Qatar was the last step for the handover from Pörner Linz as general planer to the client Süd-Chemie AG. The industrial plant was designed without a pilot plant as interim step, which means the project was developed from Pre-Basic status to a complete functional, 1.000 TPA production plant. A planning procedure from “0 to 100”.

For this performance, Pörner Linz was honored with the nomination for the Austrian State Prize for Consulting 2008.  
 

2008: Pörner Group with Biturox® No. 1 in bitumen oxidation technology

Pörner´s 35th Biturox® plant with the world’s most modern environmental technology started in Cochin, India for Kochi Refinery LTD. in 2007.   

Most of today´s leading oil companies operate a Biturox® plant. Thereby the company has become the No. 1 in bitumen oxidation technology worldwide. Given the rising demand for low sulphur fuel, several new plants have been built in the last ten years. The Biturox® process allows the production of high quality bitumen for streets and industrial bitumen even out of asphalt-poor residues, typically known to be useless for bitumen production.
 

2007: Bioethanol in Austria - record-breaking

In 2007 the Pörner Group successfully concluded one of the biggest contracts in the firm’s history: the general planning of a bioethanol plant in Pischelsdorf, Austria. The investment volume was EUR 127.4 million and is thereby the biggest industrial plant in Austria in the area of renewable energies.

Since the project preparation and realization was in sole Pörner responsibility, the governmental approval procedure could be reached in an record-breaking time of 7 months and the plant construction fulfilled in further 15 months, according to the strict schedule.

On October 23rd, 2012 the Pörner Group was honored with a nomination for the Austrian State Prize for Consulting for this exceptional achievement.
 

2006: Pörner Romania is founded

With the founding of "S.C. Poerner Engineering S.R.L." in November 2006 the Pörner Group does now have a new subsidiary in Bucharest and Ploesti. This implies a consolidation of flexible, medium-sized companies with a low cost structure. Engineering services with focus in process engineering will therefore be provided locally in Romania.

Currently more than 45 employees join the team that originally started as a 3-man one. Framework agreements and follow up contracts testify the high quality of their performance.
 

2005: Gazintek - Welcome on board

On July 1st, the Pörner Group acquired 70% of the shares of the Ukrainian engineering company Gazintek from Tecnimont- subsidiary´s Sofregaz. Since its foundation in 1991, Gazintek has mainly been working for Western European clients. The 45 specialists and engineers master the western working norms and regulations, as well as Ukrainian and Russian norms, such as GOST, and are able to work multilingual in English, Russian and Ukrainian.

Since the beginning they specialized in plant design of LPG tankers and terminals for LPG and oil, complete pipelines and gas stations. Under the guidance of the new owners, Gazintek focused on the Russian speaking countries, in which enormous investment have been made over the last years. They also cooperated in several projects within the Pörner Group. 
 

2005: The BituBag - the world novelty

In November 2005 the Pörner Group was awarded with the Austrian State Prize for Consulting for the development of the BituBag-System. The System allows bitumen to be transported in big amounts for the first time by regular means of transport. The Bitumen is transported in cold condition, allowing it to be stored and transported without additional investments in infrastructure. Compared with the metal drums transport the packaging costs are considerably low.

Further awards like the Merkur Price 2005 and the Export Price 2006 followed and helped the world innovation to set foot in the international market.
 

2003: EDL Anlagebau Gesellschaft in Leipzig becomes Pörners prestigious subsidiary

A new chapter began in Pörner´s company history: after long and fair negotiations, the Pörner Ingenieurgesellschaft mbH took over 100% of the shares of EDL Anlagenbau Gesellschaft mbH from RWE Solutions AG.

Until 2001, the company based in Leipzig belonged to the Tessag Edeleanu GmbH and employed 100 engineers and professionals specialized in designing refineries, chemical and petrochemical plants. With acquisition of EDL the Pörner Group has grown to a staff strength of 280 employees, which equals 45.000 engineering hours per annum.  

This way the EDL as mid-size company has managed to become an active player with a strong process engineering not only in Germany, but also in Austria and Eastern Europe.  
 

2003: Pörner Grimma Technology Center for formalin

Since 2003 the Pörner subsidiary in Grimma has become the Technology Center for formalin and its derivates within the Pörner Group. In collaboration with renowned European licensors and know-how partners Pörner Grimma provides all services for the engineering and construction of plants of this product family (formalin, UFC, paraformaldehyde, hexamine, UF, MUF, MF, PF resins, novolak  and bakelites, acetaldehydes, pentaerythritol, polyester and alkyd resins) as EPC contractor. In the last few years plants were built in Hungary, Germany, Russia, USA, Canada and successfully put into operation.
 

1992: subsidiary in Tyrol for pharmacy and industrial building services

Since 1992 several project regarding pharmaceutical plant engineering, energy supply and industrial building services had been developed by Pörner Linz for companies in the Tyrolean area. The constant workflow was the reason for the creation of an independent subsidiary in Kundl, Tyrol.

Next to the planning of plants and systems, the team soon took over the area of qualification and validation according to FDA-standards in SANDOZ (originally Biochemie Kundl). Its competence constructing pilot facilities and small-scale production plants, clean-room systems and plant certifications makes Pörner Kundl the competence center for pharmaceutical plants and industrial building services within the Pörner Group.
 

1992: Going international- Pörner opens its first foreign subsidiary  

This first step over the border is a big one in the company´s expansion plan. The new office in Eastern Germany was founded as the German Pörner Ingenieurgesellschaft on January 30st, 1992 in the Saxon district town of Grimma, place of the former headquarters of the eastern "Anlagebaukombinat". An office building was adapted for the purpose and in record time, a team of specialist was providing the full branch of engineering services after the political change. The structure of the new company was designed like the parent company in Vienna.

In the joint venture "Tecnimont-Pörner Ingenieurgesellschaft" (TPI) with the Italian plant constructor Tecnimont, the office in Grimma was in charge of the general planning of several major projects, such as a hydrogen peroxide-plant in Bitterfeld and the starch plant Barbie for CRESTAR.
 

1991: Pörner awards the Austrian National Price for Consulting

In the nineties Pörner realized several fore-running environmental projects such as waste incineration plants and optimization of sewage treatment plants. In 1991, the innovative skills of the Pörner engineers were rewarded by the most desired award for engineering companies: Pörner won the Austrian National Price for Consulting for the general planning of an integrated water treatment unit including waste water evaporation, fluidized bed incinerator and power station for Funder Industries in St Veit/Glan, Austria.
 

1987: Civil engineering bureau Pörner+Partner

The product range of the independent engineering company was amplified by adding a department for civil engineering called "Pörner & Partner ZT GmbH".

With this new enterprise focused on the design and execution of the constructive matters of plant construction, the company was able to consolidate its foundations and set architectonical emphases. In 1987 Pörner Ingenieurgesellschaft was awarded the national distinction of the Austrian Federal Chamber of Commerce.
 

1978: a golden chance by hitting the mark

At the beginning of the 70ies, the OMV offered K.Th. Pörner the commercialization of the newly developed Biturox-technology for production of quality bitumen beyond Austrian borders. A cooperation agreement was signed. 1978 they were able to sell the first Biturox license to Mobil Wörth in Germany. Within a short period of time, it became clear that this technology represented a niche technology that Pörner could exploit, since it was a product of global demand.
 

1975: Expansion- the first subsidiary in Linz

In 1975 Pörner Technical Bureau grew by opening a subsidiary in Linz and turned into a private limited company in 1979. The bureau in Linz was principally a planning partner for the locally based Austrian nationalized companies (VÖEST and "Linzer Stickstoffwerke" back then).

By now 35 specialists realize complex Austrian and international engineering projects independently in the steel and chemical industry.
 

1972: The beginning

Ing. Kurt Thomas PÖRNER started as a young engineer at OMV until he moved to Germany in 1961 where he learned as a piping designer the complex art of planning and processing of refineries at major engineering companies like Lurgi und R.M. Parsons. After the petrol scare he returned to Austria and founded a "Technical Bureau" in Vienna in 1972, specialized in industrial piping.

Within the first 2 years complex planning work could be realized for refineries in Congo and Mauritania which meant an enormous commercial upswing for the small company.

Pörner Gruppe Logo

Ein Pionier auf Expansionskurs

"Wären wir kein bewährtes Ingenieurbüro, hätte uns der Wind des Marktes längst hinweggefegt."

Kurt Thomas Pörner, Firmengründer

1972 wurde die Pörner Gruppe als Drei-Mann Konstruktionsbüro für Rohrleitungsplanung gegründet. Heute beschäftigt die Gruppe im Gesamtanlagenbau ca. 500 MitarbeiterInnen. 
 
 

2016: 25 Jahre EDL Anlagenbau Gesellschaft

Im September 2016 feierte die EDL ihr 25-jähriges Firmenjubiläum. Die Bilanz der realisierten Projekte und die vielen zufriedenen Kunden sind Beweis für die Leistungsfähigkeit der EDL, die sich zu einem international anerkannten Anlagenbauunternehmen entwickelt hat.

Die Jubiläumsbroschüre „25 Jahre EDL“ beschreibt nicht nur die jüngsten Projekthighlights, sondern auch das umfassende Technologieportfolio zur Herstellung hochwertiger Produkte wie Basisöle, Wachse und Schmierstoffe. Weitere Informationen zu den EDL-Technologien finden Sie hier und im EDL-Magazin auf Seite 6 ff.

 

 

2016: Gründung der OOO „Pörner Group Russia“

Die mit März 2016 in Moskau gegründete OOO “Pörner Group Russia” erweitert das Pörner Netzwerk an selbstständigen Tochterunternehmen.

Bereits im Herbst 2014 wurde ein Pörner Repräsentanzbüro in Moskau eröffnet. Mit der Transformierung in die OOO „Pörner Group Russia“ wird die Niederlassung rechtlich befugt, Verträge abzuschließen und von Russland aus Projekte abzuwickeln. „Pörner Group Russia“ bündelt nun die GUS-Aktivitäten aller Pörner-Unternehmen, ist lokale präsent für Interessenten und erleichtert die direkte Kommunikation mit den russischen Kunden.  
 

2015: Staatspreis & Anlagenbau 4.0

Pörner gewinnt mit dem Projekt "Saubere Luft für Sibirien: Planung einer Entschwefelungsanlage für Norilsk Nickel" die Nominierung zum Staatspreis für Consulting 2015. Das drei Jahre dauernde, international abgewickelte Mega-Projekt mit 25 Teilanlagen wurde von Pörner geleitet und trägt sehr entscheidend zum Umweltschutz des gesamten nördlichen Polarkreises bei.

Pörner entwickelt ein eigenes zeitgemäßes Konzept "Anlagenbau 4.0" für eine bestmögliche Projektrealisierung sowie zur Bereitstellung der "Anlage 4.0" mit höchstmöglicher Effizienz heute und in Zukunft.  
 

2014: Eröffnung des Repräsentanzbüros Moskau

Im Herbst 2014 wird ein Repräsentanzbüro in Moskau gegründet. Die eigenen Räumlichkeiten in Moskau dienen als Konferenzstandort und erleichtern die Betreuung der russischen Kunden. Ein hochqualifiziertes Team steht nun als kompetenter Ansprechpartner vor Ort zur Verfügung.
 

Download hier

2012: 40 Jahre Pörner Gruppe - Das Jahr der Firmenjubiläen

2012 feiert die Pörner Gruppe ihr 40-jähriges Bestehen! In diesen 4 Jahrzehnten wurde aus dem 3-Mann-Büro, das 1972 gegründet wurde, ein international agierender Großanlagenbauer für Verfahrenstechnik, das Projekte mit einem Investitionsvolumen von mehr als 100 Mio. EUR verlässlich realisiert.

2012 ist das Jahr in dem die Pörner Gruppe gleich 3 Firmenjubiläen feiert. So begingen Pörner Grimma und Pörner Kundl ihr jeweils 20-jähriges Firmenjubiläum mit würdigen Festen. 

Wir danken unseren Kunden und Partnern für das entgegengebrachte Vertrauen sowie unseren MitarbeiterInnen für ihr hohes persönliches Engagement!

 

 

2011: 20 Jahre EDL

Am 1. September 2011 feierte die EDL Anlagenbau Gesellschaft mit einer Schifffahrt auf der Elbe ihr 20 -jähriges Firmenjubiläum. Als EPC-Kontraktor in den Geschäftsfeldern Raffinerie, Chemie, Petrochemie und Gastechnik richtet die EDL ihren Fokus auf die Verfahrenstechnik und verfügt auf den Gebieten Raffinerietechnik, Schmieröle und in ausgewählten Bereichen der Chemieindustrie über spezielles verfahrenstechnisches Know-how.

 

 

2008: Pörner Linz mit Nominierung zum Staatspreis für Consulting geehrt

Mit dem Start-up im Juni 2008 übergab Pörner Linz, als Generalplaner, eine Produktionsanlage zur Herstellung von Industriekatalysatoren in Katar, an ihren Kunden Süd-Chemie AG. Ohne Pilotanlage als Zwischenschritt wurde aus dem Pre-Basic der Süd-Chemie AG direkt eine Industrieanlage zur Produktion von Katalysatoren mit einer Leistungskapazität von mehreren 1.000 Tonnen pro Jahr konzipiert - eine Planung sprichwörtlich "von 0 auf 100".

Für diese Leistung wurde Pörner Linz am 24. November 2008 mit einer Nominierung für den Staatspreis für Consulting 2008 gewürdigt.
 

2008: Pörner Gruppe mit Biturox® weltweit Nr. 1

2007 ging die 35. Biturox® Anlage der Pörner Gruppe mit modernster Umwelttechnik in Cochin/Indien für die Kochi Refinery Ltd. in Betrieb.

Die meisten führenden Ölkonzerne betreiben heute Biturox®-Anlagen. Damit ist Pörner weltweit die Nummer 1 in der Bitumenoxidation Technologie.

Durch die steigende Nachfrage nach schwefelarmen Treibstoff war der Zuwachs an neuen Anlagen in den letzten zehn Jahren besonders hoch. Durch das Biturox® Verfahren kann aus den verbleibenden Asphalten-armen Rückständen, die als nicht "bitumenfähig" gelten, dennoch qualitativ hochwertige Straßen- und Industriebitumen hergestellt werden.
 

2007: Bioethanol in Österreich - rekordverdächtig

Die Pörner Ingenieurgesellschaft schloss im Oktober 2007 den größten Ingenieurvertrag ihrer Unternehmensgeschichte erfolgreich ab: die Generalplanung der Bioethanol-Anlage in Pischelsdorf/Österreich. Mit einem Gesamtinvestitionsvolumen von 127,4 Mio. EUR ist diese die größte Industrieanlage in Österreich auf dem Gebiet der erneuerbaren Energien. 

Die Projektvorbereitung und -abwicklung komplett aus eigener Hand durch Pörner ermöglichte eine rekordverdächtig kurze Dauer des UVP-Prozesses (7 Monate) und die planmäßigen Fertigstellung innerhalb des straffen Terminplans von nur 15(!) Monaten.

Am 23. Oktober gewann Pörner für diese Leistung unter 23 Mitbewerbern die Nominierung zum Staatspreis in der Kategorie Ingenieurconsulting.
 

2006: Pörner Rumänien wird gegründet

Mit Gründung der "S.C. Poerner Engineering Services S.R.L." im November 2006 engagiert sich die Pörner Gruppe mit einer eigenen Niederlassung in Bukarest und Ploesti auch in Rumänien. Damit baute Pörner das Netzwerk flexibler, mittelgroßer Ingenieurbüros mit schlanker Kostenstruktur aus. Ingenieurdienstleistungen mit Verfahrenstechnik als Schwerpunkt werden seither vor Ort in Rumänien angeboten. Nach anfangs nur 3 Mitarbeitern sind am Standort Ploesti nunmehr ca. 20 Mitarbeiter beschäftigt. Rahmenverträge und Folgeaufträge sprechen für die Qualität der Leistungen.
 

2005: Gazintek - Willkommen in der Pörner Gruppe

Am 1. Juli übernahm Pörner zunächst 70% der Anteile des ukrainischen Ingenieurunternehmens Gazintek von der französischen Tecnimont-Tochter Sofregaz. Die seit 1991 bestehende Gazintek arbeitete fast ausschließlich für westeuropäische Auftraggeber. Ihre mittlerweile 45 Ingenieure und Spezialisten beherrschen westliche Arbeitsusancen und Normen, dazu naturgemäß ukrainische und russische (GOST-Normen) und sind in der Lage, multilingual in Englisch, Russisch und Ukrainisch zu arbeiten.

Damals wie heute sind die Spezialgebiete der Gazintek die Planung von Anlagen auf Flüssiggastankschiffen, von Flüssiggas- und Ölprodukt-Terminals, kompletten Pipelines und Gasstationen.

Unter dem neuen Eigentümer wandte sich Gazintek vermehrt dem russischsprachigen Länder zu, in denen enorme Investitionen getätigt wurden und führte Engineering für Verfahrensanlagen-Projekte innerhalb der Pörner Gruppe durch.
 

2005: Der BituBag - Die Weltneuheit

Im November 2005 wird die Pörner Gruppe mit dem Staatspreis für Consulting für das von Pörner entwickelte BituBag-System geehrt. Das System eröffnet erstmals die Möglichkeit, Bitumen in großen Mengen auf konventionellen Wegen ohne aufwändige Spezialausrüstung im kalten Zustand zu transportieren und auch zu lagern. Damit werden gegenüber der Verwendung von Metallfässern die Verpackungskosten erheblich reduziert.

Weitere Preise wie der Merkur Preis 2005 und der Export Preis 2006 folgten und verhalfen der Weltinnovation zu einem guten Start für die Eroberung des Weltmarktes. 
 

2003: EDL Anlagenbau Gesellschaft in Leipzig - Pörners grosse Tochter

Ein neues Kapitel in der Pörner Firmengeschichte wurde 2003 aufgeschlagen: nach längeren Verhandlungen übernahm die Pörner Ingenieurgesellschaft 100% der Anteile an der EDL Anlagenbau Gesellschaft mbH von der RWE Solutions AG.

Das bis 2001 der Tessag Edeleanu GmbH zugehörige Leipziger Ingenieur-Unternehmen beschäftigte zu diesem Zeitpunkt rund 100 Ingenieure und Fachleute auf den Gebieten Petrochemie, Raffinerie- und Chemieanlagenbau, in Deutschland. Damit wuchs die Pörner Gruppe auf insgesamt 280 Mitarbeiter, was ca. 450.000 Ingenieurstunden jährliche Planungskapazität entspricht. Es gelang in der Folge, EDL als mittelständischen Anlagenbau-Player mit starker Verfahrenstechnik nicht nur im Osten, sondern in ganz Deutschland und Österreich zu etablieren.
 

2003: Pörner Grimma Technologie-Center für Formalin

Seit 2003 spezialisierte sich der Standort Grimma innerhalb der Pörner Gruppe als Technologie-Center für Formalin und dessen Derivate. Gemeinsam mit namhaften europäischen Lizenzgebern und Know-how Partnern bietet Pörner Grimma Chemieanlagen aus dieser Produktfamilie (Formalin, UFC, Hexamin, UF, MUF, MF, PF Harze, Novolake und Bakelite, Polyester- und Alkyd Harze) als EPC Contractor an. Zuletzt wurden in Ungarn, Deutschland, Russland, USA und Kanada erfolgreich Anlagen geplant, geliefert und in Betrieb gesetzt.
 

1996: Neues Management

1996 zog sich der Firmengründer K.Th. Pörner aus dem aktiven Geschäft zurück. Ein neues Management um Andreas Pörner und Peter Schlossnikel wurde etabliert, welches seither die Leitung der Pörner Ingenieurgesellschaft inne hat. 

 
 

1992: Niederlassung in Kundl / Tirol für Pharma- und Industrielle Haustechnik

Seit 1992 wurden mehrere Projekte im Bereich Energieversorgung industrielle Haustechnik und Pharma-Anlagenbau von Pörner Linz abgewickelt. Die beständig gute Auslastung bildete die Basis für den Aufbau einer eigenständigen Niederlassung in Kundl/Tirol. 

Neben der Planung von Anlagen und Systemen, deckte die Pörner Gruppe bei der Biochemie Kundl (heute SANDOZ) bald auch das Gebiet der Qualifizierung und Validierung gemäß FDA-Standard ab. Kompetenz bei Bau von Versuchs- und Kleinproduktionsanlagen, in der Reinraumtechnik und der Anlagenzertifizierungen macht Pörner Kundl innerhalb der Pörner Gruppe zum Kompetenzcenter für Pharma-Anlagen, industrielle Haustechnik.
 

1992: Going International - Pörner gründet erste Auslandsniederlassung

Mit der Gründung einer Pörner-Niederlassung im Osten Deutschlands ging Pörner einen weiteren Schritt in Richtung Expansion. Die deutsche Pörner Ingenieurgesellschaft wurde am 30. Januar 1992 in der sächsischen Kreisstadt Grimma, vormals Hauptsitz des ostdeutschen Anlagenbaukombinates in eine neu adaptierten Bürohaus etabliert. Mit einem in Rekordzeit aufgebauten voll integrierten Ingenieurbüro, ähnlich organisiert und strukturiert, wie das Wiener Mutter-Unternehmen, wurde in der Boom-Zeit nach der Wende die chemische und verfahrenstechnische Industrie mit umfassenden Ingenieurleistungen bedient.

In einem Joint Venture "Tecnimont-Pörner Ingenieurgesellschaft" (TPI) mit dem italienischen Anlagenbauer Tecnimont wurden im Büro in Grimma Generalplanungen für Großprojekte durchgeführt: eine Wasserstoffsuperoxid-Anlage in Bitterfeld und ein Stärkewerk Barbie für CERESTAR wurden realisiert.
 

1991: Pörner gewinnt den Staatspreis für Consulting

In den 90er Jahren führte Pörner mehrere große Umweltprojekte wie Abfallverbrennungen und Optimierungen von Kläranlagen durch. Die fachliche Kompetenz der Pörner-Ingenieure wurde 1991 mit der höchsten Auszeichnungen für Ingenieurbüros belohnt: Pörner erhielt für die Generalplanung einer integrierten Abwasserreinigungsanlage mit Eindampfung, Wirbelschichtkessel und Kraftwerk in bei der Fa. Funder in St. Veit an der Glan den österreichischen Staatspreis für Consulting.
 

1987: Zivilingenieurbüro Pörner & Partner

Die Angebotspalette des Ingenieurbüros wurde 1987 um die Bauplanung und Architektur erweitert. 1995 mündete diese in der Gründung des Zivilingenieurbüros "Pörner & Partner ZT GmbH". Dadurch war es möglich, die Pörner-Industrieanlagen auf "solide Fundamente" zu setzen und dabei auch architektonische Akzente zu setzen. 1987 wurde der Pörner Ingenieurgesellschaft von der Bundeswirtschaftskammer die staatliche Auszeichnung verliehen.
 

1978: Ein goldener Griff ins Schwarze

Anfang der 70er-Jahre, wurde von der OMV das in Österreich entwickelte Biturox-Verfahren zur Produktion von Qualitätsbitumen in Raffinerien an K. Th. Pörner, zur Vermarktung außerhalb Österreichs herangetragen. 1978 gelang es, eine erste Lizenz unter Biturox an Mobil Wörth, Deutschland zu vergeben. Innerhalb weniger Jahre stellte sich heraus, dass dieses Verfahren für Pörner eine hervorragende Nischentechnologie darstellte, für die auf der ganzen Welt Bedarf besteht.
 

1975: Expansion - die erste Niederlassung in Linz

1975 wurde das Pörner Ingenieurbüro durch ein Büro in Linz erweitert und 1979 in eine Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung umgewandelt. Das Linzer Büro war anfangs hauptsächlich Planungspartner für die dort ansässige Verstaatlichte Industrie (damals VÖEST und Linzer Stickstoffwerke).

Mittlerweile planen und realisieren im Linzer Büro an die 35 Ingenieure in Eigenverantwortung österreichische und internationale Projekte der Stahl- und Chemieindustrie.
 

1972: Der Anfang

Ing. Kurt Thomas PÖRNER, der als junger Ingenieur bei der ÖMV begonnen hatte, ging 1961 nach Deutschland und lernte bei großen Anlagenbauern wie Lurgi und R. M. Parsons als freiberuflicher Rohrleitungskonstrukteur , wie der Bau von Raffinerien abgewickelt und geplant wird. Nach der Ölkrise kehrte er nach Österreich zurück und gründete 1972 ein "Technisches Büro" mit Schwerpunkt Industrieverrohrung in Wien.

Bereits in den ersten zwei Jahren konnten anspruchsvolle Planungsarbeiten für Raffinerien im Kongo und in Mauretanien übernommen werden, die dem kleinen Unternehmen zu einem gewaltigen wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung verhalfen.